Equality Act

Legacy in the Community is passionate about supporting individuals that are protected by the 2010 Equality Act and recognises the barriers that individuals may face in economic, social and political spheres.

What is the Equality Act 2010?

The Equality Act 2010 is a policy in the United Kingdom that is aimed at promoting equality and preventing discrimination against individuals with protected characteristics. The protected characteristics under the Equality Act 2010 are:

  1. Age
  2. Disability
  3. Gender reassignment
  4. Marriage and civil partnership
  5. Pregnancy and maternity
  6. Race
  7. Religion or belief
  8. Sex
  9. Sexual orientation

The policy requires that individuals with protected characteristics are treated fairly, without discrimination or harassment. The policy also requires employers, service providers, and educational institutions to make reasonable adjustments to ensure that individuals with protected characteristics are not disadvantaged.

The policy covers a wide range of areas, including employment, education, housing, and the provision of goods and services. It places a legal obligation on public bodies to take proactive steps to address inequality and promote equality.

The Equality Act 2010 also created the Equality and Human Rights Commission, which is responsible for enforcing the policy and promoting equality and human rights across the UK.

We at Legacy in the Community believe that everyone has the right to be treated fairly, so we are committed to raising awareness about the Equality Act legislation whether an individual is discriminated against with intent, unconsciously, or by association.

Need some assistance?

Need some assistance?

Contact our friendly and knowledgeable team:

Call: 01685 709 549

Email: info@litc.uk